Teacher Cert Pathfinder

What changed, and when

The record of rule changes we found, with the date each took effect. This page is the update promise made visible: if it is empty for a long time, that is a claim you can check.

Two of the first three states researched changed materially inside a single quarter, and neither change appeared in any free guide we examined at the time. That change rate is why this product exists and why its scope is capped — see how we verify.

Rule changes

Texas — The Core Subjects EC–6 examination changes number in 2027 Effective 1 September 2027
391 Core Subjects EC–6 is replaced by 491 Core Subjects EC–6 for the EC–6 certificate from 1 September 2027.
293 Science of Teaching Reading TExES and 491 Core Subjects EC–6 TExES (Starting no earlier than 9/1/2027)

19 TAC §233.2. A dated transition printed in the rule figure. Anyone planning an elementary move across the 2027 boundary needs to know which examination will be operational when they sit it, and any guide naming only the 391 will be wrong from that date.

Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator Certification, Figure: 19 TAC §230.21(e) — certificate to required-examination mapping — read 10 September 2026 · Texas overview
Pennsylvania — Basic skills testing is no longer a certification requirement Effective 10 September 2026
Basic skills testing has been removed as a Pennsylvania certification requirement. It survives only as one alternative to the 3.0 GPA admissions standard for entering a preparation programme under Chapter 354.
Basic skills testing is no longer a certification requirement in PA. However, basic skills testing remains one alternative to the 3.0 GPA certification preparation program admissions standard required by Chapter 354, Preparation of Professional Ed

ambiguous_confirm_with_state on the DATE. PDE states the change as current fact but does not date it on this page, so changedOn records the date this project verified it, not the date the change took effect. Admission to a preparation programme and certification are different things, and a stale guide flattens the two.

Pennsylvania Department of Education, Certification Testing — Testing Requirements and Testing Requirement Exceptions — read 10 September 2026 · Pennsylvania overview
Texas — Rule change effective 2 August 2026 Effective 2 August 2026
An out-of-state certificate must be both valid AND active when the complete application is received.
House Bill 1178, enacted by the 89th Texas Legislature, requires that any out-of-state certificate submitted for a Review of Credentials must be both valid and active at the time the complete application is received.

19 TAC §§230.111 and 230.113 amended to be effective 2 August 2026, 51 TexReg 4864, under TEC §21.0521 as added by HB 1178, 89th Leg. R.S. 2025.

Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026 · Texas overview
Georgia — A literacy assessment is required of every out-of-state teaching applicant since 1 July 2026 Effective 1 July 2026
All out-of-state educators applying for Georgia teaching certification must pass the appropriate Georgia state-approved literacy assessment, or a GaPSC-accepted literacy assessment approved by another state.
Effective July 1, 2026, all out-of-state educators applying for Georgia certification in teaching fields must meet the literacy assessment requirement by passing the appropriate Georgia state-approved literacy assessment or by passing a GaPSC-accepted literacy assessment approved by another state.

The freshest live change found anywhere in this project — ten weeks old at capture. Any guide, forum answer or search result written before July 2026 omits it. Neither page lists which other states' literacy assessments GaPSC accepts.

Georgia Professional Standards Commission, Out-of-State Educators — read 10 September 2026 · Georgia overview
Nevada — Endorsement names can now change without a new regulation Effective 1 July 2026
From 1 July 2026 the Superintendent of Public Instruction may update endorsement names, transition endorsements, and remove endorsements that no longer exist.
Allows the Superintendent of Public Instruction to update the names of endorsements, transition endorsements, and to remove endorsements from a license that no longer exist.

Every Nevada endorsement name on this page is a staleness tripwire and is re-checked at each refresh.

Nevada Commission on Professional Standards in Education, Summary of Regulations Adopted by the Commission on Professional Standards in Education — Effective July 01, 2026 — read 10 September 2026 · Nevada overview
Nevada — The maths and science coursework substitution rule was repealed Effective 1 July 2026
NAC 391.136, the conditions for substituting coursework toward a mathematics or science endorsement, was repealed effective 1 July 2026.
Repeals NAC 391.136 Endorsement in mathematics and science: Conditions for substitution of course work.

Any guide describing a Nevada maths or science coursework substitution predates this repeal. What replaces it, if anything, is not stated in the summary.

Nevada Commission on Professional Standards in Education, Summary of Regulations Adopted by the Commission on Professional Standards in Education — Effective July 01, 2026 — read 10 September 2026 · Nevada overview
Colorado — SB26-126 removed the seven-year recency window Effective 21 April 2026
Colorado may issue a professional teacher licence on three years of successful teaching experience in another state, and the requirement that the experience fall within the previous seven years is eliminated.
The act allows the state department of education (CDE) to issue a professional teacher license to a teacher with at least 3 years of successful teaching experience in another state or country for which CDE has granted reciprocity. The act eliminates the requirement that an applicant have the successful teaching experience within the previous 7 years.

Signed Act dated 21 April 2026; status Became Law. The verbatim effective-date clause could not be retrieved — content.leg.colorado.gov returns HTTP 403 to automated fetches. Press reporting places the effective date at 12 August 2026.

Colorado General Assembly, SB26-126 — Licensure for Experienced Out-of-State Teachers — read 9 September 2026 · Colorado overview
Pennsylvania — The fee cut that is easy to report backwards Effective 12 November 2025
Act 47 of 2025, signed 12 November 2025, reduced standard certification fees to no more than $50. The separate Professional Educator Discipline fee was expressly not waived by the Act, so an out-of-state applicant still pays $150.
In accordance with Act 47 of 2025, standard certification fees have been reduced to no greater than $50. Under state law, the Pennsylvania Department of Education must collect a separate Professional Educator Discipline fee during the educator certification process, which is used to support the education profession. This fee has not been waived in Act 47 and is reflected in the new fee structure below.

A guide reporting "Pennsylvania cut its certification fee to $50" is quoting the true half of a two-column table. The whole table is what an applicant pays.

Pennsylvania Department of Education, Certification Fees and Forms — read 10 September 2026 · Pennsylvania overview
Florida — Fingerprint processing instructions changed Effective 7 April 2025
FLDOE’s fingerprint processing instructions changed with effect from 7 April 2025.
Please note - changes to our Fingerprint Processing Instructions went into effect April 7, 2025.
Florida Department of Education, Certification Steps, and Step 4: Submitting Fingerprints for Certification — read 10 September 2026 · Florida overview

Verified absences

Things an agency has not published, checked on a date. These are facts too, and they are the ones nobody else records.

California — What Route 1 costs you later Verified absence
To clear the preliminary credential, a Route 1 applicant must complete a Commission-approved Teacher Induction Program. Route 2 does not require it.

This is the single largest difference between the two routes and it turns on the two-year line. A teacher with 23 months of experience faces an induction programme a teacher with 24 months does not.

Checked 10 September 2026 · California overview
California — The credential application fee is not published on the fees page Verified absence
The Fees and Fingerprinting page states only the $49 non-resident fingerprint processing fee. The application processing fee itself is charged inside CTC Online and is not stated on the page.

ambiguous_confirm_with_state. No application-fee amount is published on this site for California. It is knowable only by starting a CTC Online application, which is exactly the point at which an applicant would want to know it.

Checked 10 September 2026 · California overview
Colorado — CDE has published no compact implementation guidance Verified absence
An automated check of CDE's out-of-state teacher checklist on 9 September 2026 found no occurrence of the word "compact" anywhere on the page.

What is unresolved: SB26-126's compact-state process was reportedly in effect from 12 August 2026, but CDE has published no guidance on how to use it, no annual endorsement-correspondence table, and no mention of the compact anywhere on its out-of-state checklist. Whether the 30-day route is operable in practice, and how an applicant invokes it, cannot be answered from the published record. Immaterial to a Texas applicant, who is not from a compact state; material to anyone moving from one of the 15 member states. Confirm with CDE Educator Licensing, (720) 739-3304.

Checked 9 September 2026 · Colorado overview
Colorado — Military spouses Verified absence
No CDE page describing a military-spouse educator licensure expedite was found. CDE's military-facing educator page does not contain the word "spouse", and states that the Troops to Teachers programme was sunset on 1 October 2020.

Colorado's general occupational-credential portability provisions sit in Title 24, C.R.S., outside CDE's licensure pages, and have not been examined.

Checked 9 September 2026 · Colorado overview
Florida — The compact is not part of Florida's certification statute Verified absence
An automated check on 9 September 2026 found no occurrence of the word "compact" anywhere in s. 1012.56, F.S. Florida's compact codification is a separate section, s. 1012.993, F.S., and no occurrence of "compact" was found on FLDOE's reciprocity page either.
Checked 9 September 2026 · Florida overview
Georgia — No processing time is published Verified absence
Georgia states only that complete applications are processed in the order received. No number of days or weeks is given.

ambiguous_confirm_with_state. No timeline is asserted on this site for Georgia.

Checked 10 September 2026 · Georgia overview
North Carolina — No test substitution for new elementary and special-education teachers Verified absence
If your programme led to Elementary Education or Exceptional Children: General Curriculum and you have fewer than three years of classroom teaching, your other state’s tests are not accepted.
Checked 10 September 2026 · North Carolina overview
North Carolina — CTE licences go through an employer Verified absence
The CTE Provisional License restricted route is based on a related degree and work experience, and every application must be submitted by a North Carolina employing school system.
Checked 10 September 2026 · North Carolina overview
New Jersey — What happens if you cannot show two effective years Verified absence
You are issued a CEAS instead of a standard certificate, and must then complete New Jersey’s provisional certificate and standard certificate requirements from the beginning.
Checked 10 September 2026 · New Jersey overview
New Jersey — Alternate-route certificates get no reciprocity Verified absence
Reciprocity does not apply to an instructional Certificate of Eligibility. A holder of another state’s alternate-route certificate must meet N.J.A.C. 6A:9B-8.3 in full.

The exception is the Alternate Route Interstate Reciprocity Pilot Program, a five-year programme available only through two participating universities: Rowan University and Rutgers University-Newark.

Checked 10 September 2026 · New Jersey overview
New Jersey — Special education is an add-on, not a stand-alone credential Verified absence
A teacher of students with disabilities endorsement requires the candidate to already possess a CE, CEAS or standard New Jersey instructional certificate with an endorsement appropriate to the subject or grade level to be taught.

A teacher arriving with only a special education credential does not hold the base endorsement New Jersey requires underneath it, and will need to establish one.

Checked 10 September 2026 · New Jersey overview
New Jersey — No processing time is published Verified absence
Neither the reciprocity page nor N.J.A.C. 6A:9B states how long the Office of Certification takes to evaluate an out-of-state application.

ambiguous_confirm_with_state. No timeline is asserted on this site for New Jersey. The 45-calendar-day district vacancy rule is a deadline on districts and must not be read as a processing estimate.

Checked 10 September 2026 · New Jersey overview
Nevada — A compact member that never mentions the compact Verified absence
Nevada joined the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact in 2023 according to the Council of State Governments, but none of the NDE licensure pages captured mention the compact or describe a compact pathway.

ambiguous_confirm_with_state. Whether Nevada operates the compact for incoming teachers is not established by any captured source. Florida is the other compact member in this project that is silent about it on its own pages; Pennsylvania is the member that operates it openly.

Checked 10 September 2026 · Nevada overview
Nevada — No application processing time is published Verified absence
NDE says processing times vary with the time of year, application volume and whether a background check is required, and gives no number.

ambiguous_confirm_with_state. No processing time is asserted on this site for Nevada.

Checked 10 September 2026 · Nevada overview
New York — There is no CTE route into New York at all Verified absence
New York publishes, as its own item on the reciprocity page, that there is no reciprocity for out-of-state career and technical certificates or programs.

Not an ambiguity to confirm — a published refusal. No CTE pack can be written for a New York destination, and this project does not publish one.

Checked 10 September 2026 · New York overview
New York — No processing time is published Verified absence
Neither the reciprocity page nor the endorsement page states the application fee or how long an evaluation takes. The fee is published elsewhere, on NYSED’s Application Fees page. No processing time was found on any NYSED page captured.

ambiguous_confirm_with_state for the processing time. CORRECTION, 10 September 2026: this entry first said no fee amount was asserted anywhere for New York. NYSED’s Application Fees and Initial Certificate pages do state it ($100 per title on the endorsement pathway); it is recorded above. New York still refuses to pre-approve, so the applicant commits $100 per title for an unstated wait.

Checked 10 September 2026 · New York overview
Pennsylvania — No processing time is published Verified absence
Neither the out-of-state educators page, the fee schedule, the certificate types page nor the Level I to Level II page states how long PDE takes to evaluate an out-of-state application.

ambiguous_confirm_with_state. No timeline is asserted on this site for Pennsylvania.

Checked 10 September 2026 · Pennsylvania overview
Virginia — No general science endorsement Verified absence
The science endorsements in Virginia’s licensure chapter are biology, chemistry, Earth science and physics. There is no general-science endorsement.
Checked 10 September 2026 · Virginia overview
Washington — Out-of-state scores cannot add an endorsement later Verified absence
Once certified, an endorsement added later needs a Washington WEST-E/NES test. Tests from other states only help at the first application.

Adding an endorsement costs $81 per endorsement on the fee schedule.

Checked 10 September 2026 · Washington overview
Washington — Elementary and special education cannot be added by test alone Verified absence
Elementary Education and Special Education are not on the test-only add-on list. Their add-on routes are a programme plus test, an out-of-state certificate plus a Washington test, or National Board certification.
Checked 10 September 2026 · Washington overview

Coverage as it stands

Count
States with rules read from primary sources11
States with credential tiers verified only1
Corridors published15
Corridors ranked but not yet researched0
Sources in the register125