Teacher Cert Pathfinder

Washington teacher licensure for out-of-state applicants

Washington accepts an out-of-state certificate that is valid or expired, with three years of out-of-state teaching — but its out-of-state checklist still lists a basic skills test and a content test for every endorsement you seek.

Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification 360-725-6400 23 cited facts

Washington has enacted the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact (2024). Enacting it and opening it are different things, and they vary by state — Pennsylvania has published the list of licences it accepts and reviews applications under Compact rules; Colorado publishes no compact guidance at all. The compact also only governs movement between member states, so it does nothing for you if your other state has not joined. Which case is Washington? →

The regime

How Washington evaluates an out-of-state teacher
On OSPI’s own out-of-state application: a bachelor’s degree, and either any state’s approved teacher preparation programme, or a full out-of-state teaching certificate with at least three years of out-of-state teaching.
hold or have held a full teaching certificate in another state with at least three years of out-of-state or out-of-country teaching experience
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
The compact is not mentioned Not settled — confirm with the agency
Washington is listed as a member of the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact (joined 2024), but none of the OSPI pages captured for this route — out-of-state, military, testing, dual endorsement, fees — names the compact.

Membership comes from the Council of State Governments list. Whether OSPI runs a separate compact route, and what it asks for, is unresolved from OSPI’s own pages as read on 10 September 2026.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
Fingerprints before the application
OSPI’s five steps: review the requirements; create the E-Certification (EDS) account; complete fingerprints and the background check; gather transcripts, verification forms and out-of-state certificates; then apply in E-Certification. Fingerprinting can be skipped only if results are on file from the last two years.
Educators can skip this step if they hold a valid Washington educator certificate or if results are on file within the last two years.
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, How to Apply for a Certificate — read 10 September 2026
Grade bands are guidelines, not limits
Washington does not print mandatory grade levels on teaching certificates. The rule gives guidelines only: early childhood birth–grade 3, elementary K–8, middle level 4–9, secondary 5–12, all levels preschool–12.
the designation of mandatory grade levels on certificates for assignment purposes, no longer appears appropriate
Washington State Legislature (rule of the Professional Educator Standards Board), WAC 181-82-201 Grade designations for endorsements obtained after August 31, 2000 — read 10 September 2026

Who qualifies

An expired certificate is accepted
The certificate option accepts a full, regular teaching certificate from another state whether it is valid or expired, with three years of out-of-state teaching.
Submit a copy of a full, regular teaching certificate issued by another state (valid or expired) and three years of out-of-state teaching experience

Georgia and California also accept an expired certificate; New York and Nevada do not. The military route below is different: it asks for a valid certificate.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
The programme option has no experience requirement
Instead of the certificate and three years, you can qualify on completion of any state’s approved teacher preparation programme, traditional or alternate route, provided it included a supervised student teaching or internship.
Both the traditional and alternate route programs must include a defined course of study and a supervised student teaching/internship
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
Experience is verified on a form
The three years of out-of-state teaching are verified on Experience Verification Form 4020F-1; a traditional programme is verified on Form 4020E and an alternate route on Form 4020E-1.
Experience Verification Form 4020F-1

Who must complete Form 4020F-1 is set out on the form itself, which was not captured.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
Two tests on the checklist
The out-of-state checklist lists a basic skills test (WEST-B or an approved alternative) and a content test for each endorsement sought (WEST-E/NES or an approved alternative).
Complete a basic skills test (WEST-B or approved alternative)
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
Your own state’s scores may count Not settled — confirm with the agency
An out-of-state certificated teacher’s passing score from their own state’s certification exam may be used to meet either Washington test. Documentation that clearly shows the pass can be emailed, faxed or posted to OSPI.
your passing score from your state's teacher certification exam may be used to meet Washington's basic skills or content knowledge test requirement

OSPI publishes no list of which states’ exams it accepts, and "may be used" leaves the decision to OSPI on the documents you send.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher Assessments — read 10 September 2026
Basic skills subtests can be mixed
The basic skills requirement is three subtests — reading, writing and mathematics — and each can come from any acceptable basic skills test.
The subtests can be mixed and matched with any of the acceptable basic skills tests.
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher Assessments — read 10 September 2026
Two permits at most to finish a dual endorsement
An out-of-state teacher still meeting the dual endorsement requirement teaches on a one-year permit, and can get one further 12-month permit if all other testing is done. No third permit is issued.
Additional permits will not be issued beyond the second 12-month permit.
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Dual Endorsement Requirements — read 10 September 2026
Straight to the second tier
A teacher who holds or has held a second-tier certificate from a state PESB has approved as comparable, or who holds National Board certification, can apply directly for the Professional Teacher certificate.
Hold a certificate issued by the National Boards

Professional Teacher also requires attesting to coursework on issues of abuse (Form 4020G). Which other states’ second-tier certificates PESB has approved is on a reciprocity page that was not captured.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
National Board areas map to Washington endorsements
PESB publishes a table matching National Board certificate areas to Washington endorsements: for example Mathematics (adolescence and young adulthood, 14-18+) to Mathematics, and Exceptional Needs (3-18+) to Special Education.
Exceptional needs: early childhood through young adulthood (3-18+) | Special education

OSPI adds an endorsement through National Board certification only where there is a direct equivalency between the endorsement and the National Board certificate area.

Washington Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB), Endorsements (including the National Board equivalency table) — read 10 September 2026
Fingerprints
Fingerprints for a Washington State Patrol and FBI background check, unless you already have a valid Washington certificate on record.
Submit fingerprints for a background check if you do not already have a valid Washington certificate on record

OSPI Fingerprint Records: 360-725-6135.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026
The background check is state and federal
The fingerprint background check runs through both the Washington State Patrol (WSP) and the FBI. Washington law requires it of applicants who do not hold a valid Washington teaching certificate at the time of application.
The background record check consists of a check through the Washington State Patrol (WSP) and Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI).

OSPI Fingerprint Records: 360-725-6135.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Fingerprints & Background Checks — read 10 September 2026
Military-affiliated applicants
Military-affiliated personnel and spouses get an expedited review and, once minimum requirements are verified, expedited issuance. The military route requires a valid, in-good-standing out-of-state certificate, where the ordinary route accepts an expired one.
Anyone who identifies as military-affiliated personnel will receive an expedited review of their application
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Military-Affiliated Educator Certification Applicants — read 10 September 2026

Money

First Residency Teacher certificate
$93 for the first Residency Teacher certificate. Professional Teacher is $81, and each endorsement added later is $81.
Residency Teacher (1st issue) | $93

The schedule is headed "Total Fee (as of January 1, 2022)". Whether fees are refundable is not stated on the page.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Professional Certification Fee Schedule — read 10 September 2026

Clocks and deadlines

Otherwise, one year to pass
If your scores are not used, both tests must be passed within one calendar year of the Residency Teacher First Issue temporary permit.
the testing requirements must be successfully completed within one calendar year of issuance of the Residency Teacher First Issue (FI) temporary permit
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher Assessments — read 10 September 2026
The first certificate has no expiry date
The Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate is issued without a defined expiration date. It runs until a Washington district reports 1.5 years of full-time teaching, then is reissued as a Residency Teacher certificate on a five-year renewal cycle.
The certificate is issued without a defined expiration date until the educator has been reported by a Washington state school district as employed in the teacher role with at least 1.5 years of full-time experience
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Certificate Types & Roles — read 10 September 2026
No published processing time
None of the OSPI pages captured for this route publishes a processing time.
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher (first-time certification: Out-of-State Applicant and Professional Teacher) — read 10 September 2026

Traps

General Science cannot stand alone
A Science endorsement must be paired with a second endorsement, and only a teacher who holds Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science or Physics can add it.
Only educators who hold an endorsement in Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Space Science, or Physics will be eligible to add the Science endorsement.

The same pairing rule applies to Bilingual Education and English Language Learner. PESB dates the requirement from 1 September 2019.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Dual Endorsement Requirements — read 10 September 2026

What is not published

Out-of-state scores cannot add an endorsement later Verified absence
Once certified, an endorsement added later needs a Washington WEST-E/NES test. Tests from other states only help at the first application.
Tests from other states cannot be used to add endorsements.

Adding an endorsement costs $81 per endorsement on the fee schedule.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Adding an Endorsement — read 10 September 2026
Elementary and special education cannot be added by test alone Verified absence
Elementary Education and Special Education are not on the test-only add-on list. Their add-on routes are a programme plus test, an out-of-state certificate plus a Washington test, or National Board certification.
Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Adding an Endorsement — read 10 September 2026

Secondary mathematics

Mathematics endorsement
Grade band no mandatory band on the certificate (secondary guideline: grades 5–12). Named examination: WEST-E/NES Mathematics, or an approved alternative.

WAC 181-82-201 says mandatory grade levels on certificates "no longer" appear appropriate and gives only guidelines. Which guideline applies to this endorsement is not stated on the pages captured.

Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI), Professional Certification, Teacher Assessments — read 10 September 2026

Washington's own credential tiers

This is the table a destination state reads when it decides whether your certificate qualifies. Tier names matter more than they look: several states' rules turn on the word “standard” or “professional”.

CredentialTierTermRenewable
Residency Teacher (First Issue)entry<span class="muted">—</span><span class="muted">—</span>
Residency Teacherstandard5 years<span class="muted">—</span>
Professional Teacheradvanced<span class="muted">—</span><span class="muted">—</span>

Citation hazards in Washington

OSPI’s out-of-state checklist says to complete a basic skills test and a content test. A separate page, Teacher Assessments, says an out-of-state teacher’s own passing scores may be used instead. A guide built from the checklist alone tells an experienced teacher they must retest.

Checked 10 September 2026

Washington’s endorsement grade levels are guidelines under WAC 181-82-201, not limits printed on the certificate. A guide that states a Washington grade band as a licence limit is overstating the rule.

Checked 10 September 2026

The fee schedule is headed "as of January 1, 2022". A guide quoting different Washington fees is either older or newer than that schedule; check the date before trusting either.

Checked 10 September 2026

Corridors involving Washington

California → Washington

≈390 K-12 teachers/yr · published