Teacher Cert Pathfinder

Texas teacher licensure for out-of-state applicants

Texas states outright that it has no reciprocity with any state. Every out-of-state teacher pays for a Review of Credentials first.

Texas Education Agency (TEA) 512-936-8400, option 2 Monday–Friday, 08:00–12:00 Central 29 cited facts

Texas has not enacted the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact. Any guide that tells you the compact helps you move to or from Texas is describing a route that does not exist for this state. What the compact does and does not do →

The regime

Reciprocity
None with any state. A paid Review of Credentials is required first.
Texas does not have reciprocity with any other state, meaning it does not automatically recognize or accept out-of-state teaching certificates to move into immediate issuance of a standard certificate in Texas.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026
Rule change effective 2 August 2026 Changed 2 Aug 2026
An out-of-state certificate must be both valid AND active when the complete application is received.
House Bill 1178, enacted by the 89th Texas Legislature, requires that any out-of-state certificate submitted for a Review of Credentials must be both valid and active at the time the complete application is received.

19 TAC §§230.111 and 230.113 amended to be effective 2 August 2026, 51 TexReg 4864, under TEC §21.0521 as added by HB 1178, 89th Leg. R.S. 2025.

Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026
The path is three separate paid applications
Review of Credentials → Out-of-State One-Year Certificate → Standard Certificate.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Application Instructions — read 9 September 2026
The one-year certificate is its own type
Texas’s rule lists nine certificate types. The one-year certificate given to out-of-state applicants is one of them, separate from the standard, intern, probationary and emergency types.
(4) one year, as specified in §230.113 of this title
Texas Education Agency, 19 TAC Chapter 230, Subchapter D — Types and Classes of Certificates Issued (machine-extracted) — read 11 September 2026
The Core Subjects EC–6 examination changes number in 2027 Changed 1 Sep 2027
391 Core Subjects EC–6 is replaced by 491 Core Subjects EC–6 for the EC–6 certificate from 1 September 2027.
293 Science of Teaching Reading TExES and 491 Core Subjects EC–6 TExES (Starting no earlier than 9/1/2027)

19 TAC §233.2. A dated transition printed in the rule figure. Anyone planning an elementary move across the 2027 boundary needs to know which examination will be operational when they sit it, and any guide naming only the 391 will be wrong from that date.

Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator Certification, Figure: 19 TAC §230.21(e) — certificate to required-examination mapping — read 10 September 2026

Who qualifies

Credentials Texas will not accept
An expired certificate, a temporary permit, a credential issued by a city or school district, or a certificate for which academic or other programme deficiencies are indicated.
The certificate or other credential issued by the authorized licensing agency in another state or territory of the United States may not be an expired certificate, a temporary permit, a credential issued by a city or school district, or a certificate for which academic or other program deficiencies are indicated.

19 TAC §230.111(c). A 'standard certificate' is defined at 19 TAC §230.1(22) as one issued to a person who has met all requirements for a class of certification.

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. H — Texas Educator Certificates Based on Certification and College Credentials from Other States (July 2026 Update) — read 9 September 2026
Test exemption, Option 1 — test-based plus experience
Previously passed the licensure examinations your state required, plus at least one year of classroom teaching experience. Requires a completed credentials review, verification of out-of-state exams, verification of experience, and accreditation verification.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Educator Test Exemption Review — read 9 September 2026
Test exemption, Option 2 — experience-based
Three or more years of verifiable experience in the certificate area sought. Requires a completed credentials review, a verification of experience form, and accreditation verification.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Educator Test Exemption Review — read 9 September 2026
Science of Teaching Reading exam — who it applies to
Early Childhood: EC–Grade 3; Core Subjects with STR: EC–Grade 6; Core Subjects with STR: Grades 4–8; English Language Arts and Reading with STR: Grades 4–8; ELAR/Social Studies with STR: Grades 4–8. Secondary mathematics is not on the list.

Established by HB 3, 86th Texas Legislature, effective 1 January 2021. Classroom teaching experience alone does not exempt; Reading Academies cannot be used to exempt.

Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026
Social Security Number
A valid SSN is required to create the TEAL/ECOS account used to apply.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certifications — read 9 September 2026
Fields TEA does not review
School Psychology, Speech-Language Pathology, Nursing, Social Work and Daycare certifications must be pursued through the relevant licensing authority instead.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026
Military service members, veterans and spouses Not settled — confirm with the agency
A separate regime consolidated at 19 TAC ch. 234. Texas Occupations Code §55.005 requires expedited processing within 30 days; §55.0041 requires rules letting military spouses licensed and in good standing elsewhere practise on that out-of-state licence; §55.009 authorises waiver of application and examination fees.

The statutory provisions were confirmed through TEA's published SBEC materials. The current text of 19 TAC ch. 234 has not been read, and TEA does not state in one place how §55.0041 interacts with the Review of Credentials requirement.

Texas Education Agency, Military Community & First Responders — read 9 September 2026
What tier a Texas certificate is, when you take it to another state
The Standard Certificate is Texas’s full classroom certificate — there is no separate "professional" tier issued above it today. 19 TAC §230.105 also recognises "a valid provisional, professional, standard, or enhanced standard classroom teaching certificate", but provisional and professional are legacy classes held by long-serving teachers, not steps above Standard in the current scheme.
A teacher who holds a valid provisional, professional, standard, or enhanced standard classroom teaching certificate ... may qualify for an additional teaching field or certification to teach at another level by passing the appropriate certification examination(s) for that subject.

19 TAC §230.105. This matters most when the receiving state’s rule asks for a "professional standard" certificate, as Florida’s does: a Texas Standard Certificate is its holder’s highest current classroom credential, which is a materially stronger position than a sending state whose full tier sits below a separately-named professional one.

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. G — Certificate Issuance Procedures (May 2024 Update) — read 9 September 2026
The Out-of-State One-Year Certificate
If you meet every Texas requirement except the examinations, you may request a one-year certificate in the certification areas on your out-of-state certificate. It is issued as soon as the credentials review and the fingerprinting and background check are complete.
If all certification requirements are met except the appropriate examination requirements, the applicant may request issuance of a one-year certificate in one or more certification areas authorized on the out-of-state certificate. The one-year certificate is issued immediately following the successful completion of the credentials review and the fingerprinting and background check processes.

19 TAC §230.113(b). It is a separate application with its own fee, and a supplemental certificate cannot be added to it (§230.113(e)). What happens if the examinations are not passed within the year is under "How it goes wrong".

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. H — Texas Educator Certificates Based on Certification and College Credentials from Other States (July 2026 Update) — read 9 September 2026
What a complete Review of Credentials application contains
Three items: the submitted application with the fee paid, a copy of your out-of-state standard certificate uploaded to your ECOS account, and an official transcript sent to TEA directly by the institution that issued it.
A complete credentials review application includes: A submitted review of credentials application and payment of the required fee A copy of your out-of-state standard certificate uploaded to your ECOS account An official transcript sent directly to TEA from the issuing institution

TEA adds: "Applicants are strongly encouraged to submit score reports and verification of experience for test exemption as part of their initial credentials review application." Sending them later means a second round.

Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026

Money

Review of a credential issued outside Texas
$160, nonrefundable

19 TAC §230.101(a)(6)(B). Section last amended effective 19 May 2024, 49 TexReg 3551.

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. G — Certificate Issuance Procedures (May 2024 Update) — read 9 September 2026
One-year certificate based on an out-of-state credential
$50

19 TAC §230.101(a)(7).

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. G — Certificate Issuance Procedures (May 2024 Update) — read 9 September 2026
Standard certificate
$75

19 TAC §230.101(a)(2).

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. G — Certificate Issuance Procedures (May 2024 Update) — read 9 September 2026
Certification test fee (selected-response tests)
$116 to register for a selected-response-only certification test. The rule prices tests by assessment category, from $58 to $311.
Selected Response- Only Assessments--$116

Which category a particular TExES test belongs to is not stated in the rule. Confirm the price at registration.

Texas Education Agency, 19 TAC §230.101(c) — fees for certification tests by assessment category (machine-extracted) — read 11 September 2026
E-Pay supplemental fee Not settled — confirm with the agency
Charged on top of every application fee. The rule fixes no amount. The state portal it recovers costs for publishes a rate of 2.25% plus $0.25 per card transaction — roughly $7 across the three Texas applications, and avoidable by eCheck where offered.
2.25% plus $0.25 for each credit or debit card transaction processed

What is unresolved: 19 TAC §230.103 authorises a supplement "for the purpose of recovering the costs of the state electronic Internet portal" and fixes no amount. Texas.gov is that portal and the rate above is its published card rate, but WE HAVE NOT CONFIRMED that TEA’s supplement equals it, and DIR does not state who bears the charge. The $7.16 is an estimate on the $285 of TEA fees, shown so the total is plannable — treat it as our arithmetic on a published rate, not as a fee TEA has stated. eCheck is free at the portal where the payment page offers it.

Texas Department of Information Resources, Texas.gov Payment Services — pricing — read 10 September 2026
Fingerprinting and national criminal history check
$49.00 if you are fingerprinted in Texas. $98.95 if you are fingerprinted anywhere else — which, if you are moving to Texas, you are.
If you choose to be fingerprinted at a MorphoTrust/IdentoGO out-of state location, an additional fee of $49.95 will be assessed, and will be paid during appointment scheduling.

The $49.00 base is $39.00 paid in ECOS during the application plus $10.00 to IdentoGO at scheduling. The $49.95 out-of-state surcharge is the line that matters here and it is published in a TEA help-desk article, not on any certification page and not in 19 TAC §230.101(a)(9), which says only that the fee is "posted on the Texas Education Agency website".

Texas Education Agency, What are the fees associated with the fingerprinting process? (TEA Help Desk) — read 10 September 2026

Clocks and deadlines

Credentials review processing
6 to 8 weeks during the busiest months, April–September.
we encourage you to allow sufficient time for review, generally 6 to 8 weeks during our busiest months, April-September.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certifications — read 9 September 2026
Published queue depth
On 9 September 2026, TEA was working complete applications queued on 28 August 2026, with 146 applications outstanding as of 4 September 2026, worked by a team of four specialists.

TEA republishes these two figures continuously. Treat as a snapshot.

Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certifications — read 9 September 2026
Deadline to complete document submission
One year from application, otherwise you reapply and pay the fee again.
An individual who does not submit all required documents for the review at the time of the application will have one year to submit all required documents or the individual will be required to reapply and resubmit the application fee.

19 TAC §230.117(b).

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. H — Texas Educator Certificates Based on Certification and College Credentials from Other States (July 2026 Update) — read 9 September 2026

Traps

The checkout price is not the price in the rule
TEA’s military checklist tells applicants to select the One-Year Certificate at $52 and the Standard Certificate at $78 at checkout, against $50 and $75 in 19 TAC §230.101. The checklist does not say what the difference is.
Click on the "One-Year Certificate-$52," box and then follow the prompts to complete the process.

The rule-based amounts are recorded as tx-fee-oneyear and tx-fee-standard. The difference may be the E-Pay supplemental fee the rule authorises without a stated amount, but TEA does not say so on the checklist, and that explanation is not asserted.

Texas Education Agency, Military Veterans, Active Duty, Military Spouses Application Checklist — read 11 September 2026
If you do not pass the examinations inside the one-year certificate
You become ineligible for any certificate or permit authorising employment in that same certificate area until the examinations are satisfied. Only the employing district may request an extension, of at most one calendar year, and only for circumstances beyond your control.
An applicant issued a one-year certificate under this section who does not complete the appropriate examination requirements to establish eligibility for a standard certificate during the validity of the one-year certificate, is not eligible for any type of certificate or permit authorizing employment for the same certificate until he or she has satisfied the appropriate examination requirements.

19 TAC §230.113(d).

State Board for Educator Certification (via Texas Education Agency), 19 TAC ch. 230 subch. H — Texas Educator Certificates Based on Certification and College Credentials from Other States (July 2026 Update) — read 9 September 2026
Exemption forms cannot be uploaded by you
Forms must be submitted directly by the verifying entity.
Forms must be submitted directly by the verifying entity.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Educator Test Exemption Review — read 9 September 2026
Transcripts must be sent electronically
Official transcripts must go electronically to OSC75@tea.texas.gov. Transcripts received by mail delay the review.
Please do not request that transcripts be sent to TEA by U.S. mail. Official transcripts must be submitted electronically to OSC75@tea.texas.gov for processing.
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026
Elementary is the licence class where the Science of Teaching Reading exam bites
Core Subjects with STR: EC–Grade 6 requires TWO content examinations — 293 Science of Teaching Reading and 391 Core Subjects EC–6 — and the STR exemption rules are narrower than the general ones.

19 TAC §233.2. This is the opposite of secondary mathematics, where the STR requirement does not apply at all. Two separate TEA statements narrow the escape routes: "Classroom teaching experience alone does not qualify an applicant for exemption from the STR exam", and "Completion of the Reading Academies cannot be used for STR test exemption." An out-of-state elementary teacher with twenty years of experience may still have to sit the STR.

Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator Certification, Figure: 19 TAC §230.21(e) — certificate to required-examination mapping — read 10 September 2026

Secondary mathematics

Mathematics: Grades 7–12
Grade band 7–12. Named examination: TExES Mathematics 7–12 (235).
Texas Education Agency, Out-of-State Certified Educators — read 9 September 2026

Texas's own credential tiers

This is the table a destination state reads when it decides whether your certificate qualifies. Tier names matter more than they look: several states' rules turn on the word “standard” or “professional”.

CredentialTierTermRenewable
Standard Certificatestandard<span class="muted">—</span><span class="muted">—</span>
Probationary Certificateentry<span class="muted">—</span><span class="muted">—</span>
Intern Certificateentry<span class="muted">—</span><span class="muted">—</span>
Out-of-State One-Year Certificatetemporary<span class="muted">—</span><span class="muted">—</span>
Emergency Permitpermit<span class="muted">—</span><span class="muted">—</span>

Citation hazards in Texas

The Secretary of State's Texas Administrative Code site, texreg.sos.state.tx.us, now returns a "This Site Has Moved" redirect stub pointing at an Appian portal. Every deep link into the TAC published before that move is broken. This site cites TEA's own hosted subchapter PDFs, which carry their own update stamps, and archives them.

Checked 9 September 2026

Corridors involving Texas

California → Texas

≈685 K-12 teachers/yr · published

Florida → Texas

≈463 K-12 teachers/yr · published

Texas → California

≈639 K-12 teachers/yr · published

Texas → Florida

≈636 K-12 teachers/yr · published

Texas → Colorado

≈388 K-12 teachers/yr · published